PART ONE – PROPOSAL

ual fmp proposal Aaron Briggs

To start my journey on the Final major project, I had to begin by creating a proposal, the proposal has five different parts to it, Rational, project concept, evaluation, production schedule/action and a bibliography. This is done to give the go a head on the idea. I have linked my proposal document in at the top of the blog because it had to be done on a separate word document and not on the blog.

 

SECTION ONERATIONAL (100-150 words)

 

Throughout this year I have done a number of tasks, some I enjoyed and some I didn’t as much. This however, was all part of the learning curve. I have done: “DRIFT”, remake a scene, crime drama, audio, visual and interactive work.

 

From doing all these tasks, I had learnt what I’m better at and what I’m not so good at. I have learnt more about using the kit, audio being a common problem for me as for crime drama half my audio didn’t record and for visual it upgraded to no audio recorded.

 

I have developed skills like: how to colour grade and correct probably, picked up new editing skills and camera skills. All this work has influenced my FMP work because it has wanted me to create a cinematic short film because I know what I prefer to make.

 

SECTION TWO – PROJECT CONCEPT (200-250 words)

 

What I want to make is a short film. I am aiming for it to be around 5 – 7 minutes. This short film will be a genre that I haven’t done but want to go for, a horror, this is to challenge myself further. I want to make a cinematic, tension building horror film with a successful jump scare that is built up throughout the film. The idea is that the audience will never see the creature or ghost similarly to that of titles like “Paranormal Activity” using subtle visual effects. The film will focus on mainly one character who suffers from nightmares and wakes up from her sleep in the night.

The research I will do for this is research on other titles from the genre so that I get inspiration from those, also target audience.

The main equipment that I will need for this project is a 3 point LED lighting pack, I want to light my scenes well because a good horror is done by lighting and sound, sound is also something I will really focus on in this project meaning I will need to hire out microphones as well with a Zoom audio recorder so that I can have separate audio. I will also need a camera to shoot the footage and maybe a go pro for a POV shot of the main character in the dream scene at the start of the film.

 

SECTION THREE – EVALUATION (50-100 words)

 

For the evaluation process of my final major project, I will be making a weekly video entry that I will film and edit on a set day, these videos will be a video version of a journal with screen recording and screenshots of what I am talking about as I explain what I have done in that week and why.

 

For my final evaluation I will be just writing it in a normal evaluation format with peer feedback on my final piece. I will evaluate how I did during the Couse and if I met deadlines set and was on task etc.

 

SECTION FOUR – PRODUCTION SCHEDULE/ ACTION PLAN (no word count)

Screen Shot 2019-03-12 at 09.00.12Screen Shot 2019-03-12 at 09.00.26Screen Shot 2019-03-12 at 09.00.34

 

SECTION FIVE – RESEARCH SOURCES/ BIBLIOGRAPHY (no word count)

 

My Research Resources:

 

Primary sources:

  • Survey
  • Questionnaires
  • Vox pops
  • Focus group

 

Secondary sources:

  • Websites
  • Books
  • YouTube / videos
  • FILMS
  • Theories

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY:

Websites that I will be using:

  • Rotton tomatoes

Rotten Tomatoes. (2019). Rotten Tomatoes: Movies | TV Shows | Movie Trailers | Reviews. [online] Available at: https://www.rottentomatoes.com [Accessed 5 Mar. 2019].

 

  • IMDB

IMDb (1990) IMDb. Available at: https://www.imdb.com (Accessed: 05 March 2019)

 

Practitioners that I will be looking at:

  • Alfred Hitchcock
  • Oren Peli
  • Gore Verbinski

 

Films that I will be looking at:

  • Blair witch project

The Blair Witch Project (1999) Directed by Eduardo Sánchez [Film]. Lionsgate.

  • Rec

Rec (2007) Directed by Jaume Balagueró [Film]. Spain: Canal+.

  • Paranormal activity

Paranormal Activity (2007) Directed by Oren Peli [Film]. United States: Paramount Pictures.

  • The Conjuring

The Conjuring (2013) Directed by James Wan [Film]. United States: Warner Bros.

  • CAT PEOPLE

Cat people (1942) Directed by Jacques Tourneur [Film]. United States: RKO Radio Pictures Inc..

 

(FOUND FOOTAGE type horrors and paranormal)

 

YouTube videos:

  • Tutorials on sound
  • Stuff on History of horror and sound

 

Theories that I want to look at so far:

OtherSociologists (2012) Otherness. Available at: https://othersociologist.com/otherness-resources/ (Accessed: 05 march 2019)

 

 

Leave a comment